Beginning in November of 2004, New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (NYSDMV) instituted a fine for motorists who are convicted or plead guilty to New York DWI charges or traffic infractions which result in 6 or more points within an 18 month period. This fine is known as the “Driver’s Responsibility Assessment”, and it certainly adds to the financial bite of DWI or significant New York traffic infractions.
If you are convicted or plead guilty to either a New York drunk driving charge, such as an Aggravated DWI, DWI, DWAI, or DWAID (Driving While Ability Impaired by Drugs), the assessment is $750.00, which can be paid all at once or in three annual installments of $250.00. If you are convicted or plead guilty to traffic infractions totaling 6 or more points with 18 months, the assessment is $300.00, which can be paid up front or for three years at $100.00 per year. For each additional point above the 6 points during the 18 month period, the DMV adds on $75.00, or $25 per year.
Please contact the Westchester County Criminal Defense Lawyers at the Law Office Of Mark A. Siesel online or toll free at (914) 428-7386 if your or a loved one is charged with a New York drunk driving offense, a crime, or a traffic infraction for a free consultation with an experience attorney to discuss your legal rights and options.